Enrique Castrejon :  Los Angeles, CA

California Community Foundation 2022 Fellowship for Visual Artists

​I was fortunate and grateful to be a recipient of this award. I was one of 12 LA County Artists awarded this fellowship. It came at a fortunate time for me to continue experimenting with new materials for new work, continue in completing measure drawings, travel to my home town of Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico and other locations to research my interest in fragmentation in body and architecture, religious iconography, ritual and belief systems, mental health and public health, sexuality in effort to create work that is queer, decolonized and measured.

In the CCF press release statement, "The announcement comes after a two-year hiatus due to covid-19 Pandemic. Fellows received an unrestricted grant of $40,000, which is an investment in the artist's career rather than a singular art project, along with access to career development support and networking opportunities."

"FVA is one of the most prestigious fellowships in the region, which helps artists build successful, sustainable careers that support the driving Los Angeles arts scene. The grants are often used to develop new work and fund exhibits, travel or general expenses. This year 512 applications were received in a wide range of visual arts disciplines and reviewed by a panel of five distinguished artists and art professionals. the panel considered the artist's entire career and future promise in the selection of this year's fellows."   

"FVA was officially launched in 1988 through a gift from the J. Paul Getty Trust to create a Fund for visual artists to recognize the outstanding talent of Los Angeles based visual artists and arts organizations. Over the last 34 years, FVA has given more than $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 300 artists."

The 2022 FVA fellows are:

April Banks (Interdisciplinary-Mixed Media)

Nao Bustamante (Interdisciplinary-Mixed Media)

Enrique Castrejon (Installation)

Patty Chang (Interdisciplinary-Mixed Media)

June Edmonds (Painting)

Reanne Estrada (Interdisciplinary-Mixed Media)

Asher Hartman (Installation and Experimental Film and Video)

Iris Yirei Hu (Installation)

Phung Huynh (Painting)

Young Joon Kwak (Interdisciplinary-Mixed Media)

Sandra Low (Painting)

Sune Woods (Experimental Film and Video)